Tag Archives: vinyl

HBO Drops Vinyl


HBO has decided to not move forward with a second season of their rock and roll mess of a show, “Vinyl.” HBO issued a statement about the cancellation, which comes just months after the network gave the series a renewal.

“After careful consideration, we have decided not to proceed with a second season of Vinyl. Obviously, this was not an easy decision. We have enormous respect for the creative team and cast for their hard work and passion on this project.”

The series  starred Bobby Cannavale as Richie Finestra, a record executive yearning for the days of unvarnished rock ’n’ roll and his downward and upward spirals of madness. Unlike their show, “Boardwalk Empire” also from Terrence Winter, the show struggled in the ratings from the beginning. However, things began looking grim when last April, Winter was dropped as showrunner. Unfortunately, it seems that despite the original effort for a second season, it just wasn’t working for HBO.

What a shame, because Bobby Cannavale is amazing and needs a show.

Check Out The Amazing Guardians of the Galaxy Vinyl Release


Not only was Guardians of the Galaxy one of the best movies of the year but the soundtrack of utterly fantastic. So much so it that “Awesome Mix Vol. 1” actually became the first movie soundtrack to top the Billboard’s charts without any new songs.

“Awesome Mix Vol. 1” features classic hits from artists such as The Jackson 5 and Marvin Gaye.

Now, the soundtrack is getting released on vinyl and the artwork is simply amazing not to mention the actually vinyl itself. The album will be cased in a screen-printed album sleeve and come with a randomly chosen screen-printed handbill featuring one of nine Guardians of the Galaxy characters. All of the original artwork has been done by poster-art giant Tyler Stout, who has been a frequent collaborator with Marvel in the past. You can see the back artwork as well as the handbills below.

Unfortunately, the deluxe vinyl won’t be released until early 2015 but it is available for pre-order now.

Awesome Mix Vol. 1 Tracklist:
1. Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
2. Raspberries – Go All the Way
3. Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
4. David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
5. Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
6. 10cc – I’m Not in Love
7. Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
8. Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
9. The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
10. Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
11. The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

vinylback rsz_handbill-blog