Warning: Declaration of select_menu_walker::start_lvl(&$output, $depth) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_lvl(&$output, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 266

Warning: Declaration of select_menu_walker::end_lvl(&$output, $depth) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::end_lvl(&$output, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 266

Warning: Declaration of select_menu_walker::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 266

Warning: Declaration of select_menu_walker::end_el(&$output, $item, $depth) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::end_el(&$output, $item, $depth = 0, $args = Array) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 266

Warning: Use of undefined constant ‘widget_text’ - assumed '‘widget_text’' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 865

Warning: Use of undefined constant ‘do_shortcode’ - assumed '‘do_shortcode’' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /homepages/40/d402582911/htdocs/SocialFocused/wp-content/themes/maxmag/functions.php on line 865
J.K. Rowling Revealed To Be Crime Drama Novelist - Social Focused

J.K. Rowling Revealed To Be Crime Drama Novelist

By on July 14, 2013

jk-rowling-the-cuckoos-calling

One of the most famed writers of the last couple decades was somehow able to release a brand new book back in April without anyone knowing. J.K. Rowling was recently revealed to be the true author behind a recent crime detective novel called, “The Cuckoo’s Calling.” She released the novel under the pen name Robert Galbraith, posing as the married father of two and former undercover investigator. 

“The Cuckoo’s Calling” has been hailed by critics and fans as one of the best debut detective novels in years and for months people believed it came from a debut author as well. However, the Sunday Times newspaper felt that the incredibly well done novel was done by that of a first time author and began investigating.

“I had hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience,” said Rowling. “It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback under a different name.”

The novel was promoted as a “classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell,” by its publisher Little, Brown and Company. It follows Cormoran Strike, a trouble war veteran with both physical and psychological wounds. He begins investigating the death of a model in Mayfair, an upmarket district of London.

“The Cuckoo’s Calling” has sold around 1,500 copies in hardback though once it was revealed that Rowling was the actual author, it shot up to become a bestseller. As of Sunday, it has been listed as the third biggest seller on Amazon.co.uk.

The Sunday Times also reported that Rowling has already written the second novel in the detective series and it is due to be published next year.

About Darth Sarah

Sarah is a journalist and an artist who lives in the city. She loves movies and television. She reads early and often. She also secretly hopes the Doctor will come and take her away, though she realizes he probably already has a dedicated companion at the moment. Sarah also helps out over at BSCkids.com, Optionated.com and our other sites!